Homewood Museum provides images for educational presentations, professional research, print and electronic publications, and media projects. All requests for images must be made in writing to the Director-Curator. All requests are processed in a timely manner, according to the order in which they are received.
Catherine Rogers Arthur
The Johns Hopkins University
3400 N. Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21218
Architecture (Palladian and Federal), silver, Baltimore furniture, American history. Homewood Museum offers visitors the chance to explore diverse interests in tremendous depth and provides an intimate look at life in early-19th-century Baltimore.
The museum's collections consist of fine and decorative arts objects representative of the furnishings during the Carroll family’s occupancy (1775–1825). Some works have direct affiliation with the Carroll family. The majority of the collection is American, with a strong concentration in high-quality Baltimore furniture of the period. English ceramics, silver, and furniture, as well as items of Chinese and French manufacture, are reflective of the imports available in early-19th century Baltimore. Important loans from private collectors, as well as major institutions such as the Baltimore Museum of Art and the Maryland Historical Society, add significant depth to the furnishings on view.
Portions of Homewood's fine and decorative art collections are represented on-line in the Johns Hopkins University Cultural Properties Database.
Although used by the Carrolls in much the same way a family room is used today, the Back Parlor is quite formal in appearance. Microscopic paint analysis conducted during the restoration of the house in the 1980s revealed evidence of adhesive on the walls, documenting the use of wallpaper. The black painted and gilt armchair, on loan from the collection of the Maryland Historical Society, is the only piece of furniture that has survived with a history of original use at Homewood.
In addition to the Dressing Room’s obvious function, this room could have also been used as a small sitting room for needlework, reading, or correspondence. A closet—about ten feet off the floor and accessible only by ladder—was used for seasonal storage. The painted floorcloth, in a pattern called “tumbling blocks” provided a durable floor covering that would have been significantly cooler than carpeting in the summer months.